The New Zealand Radio Awards began in 1978 and were created with the aim of supporting and recognising excellence in radio broadcasting in New Zealand.

The Awards celebrate the very best of New Zealand radio, honouring personalities, programming, news and sports reporting, production and creativity within the industry. The New Zealand Radio Awards accepts entries from all New Zealand radio stations and their staff, New Zealand advertising agencies, production houses and others who contribute to broadcasting in New Zealand.

The administration of the awards is supported by the Radio Broadcasters Association which is the industry body representing NZ commercial radio.


2020 NZ Radio Awards Winners

A video announcement of the 2020 NZ Radio Awards winners is available here:

Full list of all 2020 finalists & winners available to download here .

The Committee

The New Zealand Radio Awards is directed by the Radio Industry Awards Committee which is made up of the following industry representatives.

Jana Rangooni
CEO Radio Broadcasters Association / Chairperson of the Radio Industry Awards Committee

Janine Bliss
Radio Broadcasters Association

Rodger Clamp

Mike McClung

Willy Macalister
Radio New Zealand

Donna Bloxham
Website Entry & Judging Co-ordinator


An academy of judges comprising both past and present broadcasters within New Zealand and overseas are used to judge the New Zealand Radio Awards. Judges are selected based on their area of expertise and familiarity of the category to be judged. All judging panels include a representative from NZME, MediaWorks and where applicable, Radio New Zealand.

The entries for each award are judged online by a panel of judges. The Radio Industry Awards Committee also reserves the right to assemble a second round judging panel for any other award in which there was an indeterminate result.

The Radio Industry Awards Committee would like to thank all judges included in the judging academy for giving their time and expertise.