The 2024 NZ Radio & Podcast winners are available to download here

The NZ Radio Awards began in 1978 and were created with the aim of supporting and recognising excellence in radio broadcasting in New Zealand. The awards programme is now called the NZ Radio & Podcast Awards.

The Awards celebrate the very best of NZ radio, honouring personalities, programming, news and sports reporting, production and creativity within the industry. The NZ Radio & Podcast Awards accepts entries from all New Zealand radio stations and their staff, New Zealand advertising agencies, podcast creators & producers, production houses and others who contribute to broadcasting in New Zealand.

The administration of the awards is supported by the Radio Broadcasters Association which is the industry body representing NZ commercial radio.


The Committee

The NZ Radio & Podcast Awards is directed by the Radio Industry Awards Committee which is made up of the following industry representatives.

Jana Rangooni
Chair of the Radio Broadcasters Association & Radio Industry Awards Committee

Janine Bliss & Alistair Jamison
Radio Broadcasters Association

Rodger Clamp

Don Mann
Pacific Media Network

Mike McClung

John Hartevelt


An academy of judges comprising both past and present broadcasters within New Zealand and overseas are used to judge the NZ Radio & Podcast Awards. Judges are selected based on their area of expertise and familiarity of the category to be judged. All judging panels include a representative from NZME, MediaWorks and where applicable, RNZ.

The entries for each award are judged online by a panel of judges. The Radio Industry Awards Committee also reserves the right to assemble a second round judging panel for any other award in which there was an indeterminate result.

The Radio Industry Awards Committee would like to thank all judges included in the judging academy for giving their time and expertise.